Databases are useful when looking for in-depth information on a narrow topic. This is especially true of journal articles. A number of specific databases will be helpful in finding information for your assignments.
For assignments in the Indigenous Perspectives course, the Library recommends using (click the linked text to access):
"Contains full-text electronic resources with a primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world." - Indigenous Studies Portal, University of Saskatchewan
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism.
“The NCTR Archives and Collections is the foundation for ongoing learning and research. Here, Survivors, their families, educators, researchers, and the public can examine the residential school system more deeply with the goal of fostering reconciliation and healing.” - NCTR Archives
This database provides access to documents, such as intervenor project submissions, publications, research reports and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.
Search for articles and other resources related to your area of study in a variety of databases through EBSCOhost.
Search this database of journal and non-journal literature about education. Can include full text and peer-reviewed material.
PubMed provides free access to articles and abstracts on health, medicine, and life sciences from sources like MEDLINE. Note: Reliability in PubMed search results may be affected by changes in administration and policies related to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Consult our Nursing & Allied Health A-Z list of databases for a selection of additional database options.
Watch the videos below to familiarize yourself with how to navigate searching in some of these databases.
The following video demonstrates how to search the I-Portal database.
The following video introduces how to use basic search techniques and advanced features in EBSCOhost.
The techniques used in EBSCOhost can also be applied to ScienceDirect.
The following video gives great insight into how most databases operate. It also shows you how to conduct an effective and efficient search specifically in PubMed.
If you come across an article that you don’t have full access to, you can request it through the Library! Simply fill out our Library Materials Request form with as many details about the article as possible and we’ll work to bring it in for you.
Details that will help us find the article are:
Websites like those linked below can be sources of good quality information on a variety of topics. Click the linked, underlined text below to access the websites listed where you'll likely find information relevant to your assignments.
