Databases are useful when looking for in-depth information on a narrow topic. This is especially true of journal articles. A number of specific databases will be helpful in finding information for this assignment.
For this assignment, the Library recommends using (click the linked text to access):
Users must register upon first use. Delivers evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
"Contains full-text electronic resources with a primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world." - Indigenous Studies Portal, University of Saskatchewan
A peer-reviewed journal collection offers the leading literature in physical sciences, including Earth & Planetary Sciences, Energy, Chemistry, Computer Science, and others.
Search for articles and other resources related to your area of study in a variety of databases through EBSCOhost.
Open-access articles from 258 peer-reviewed journals in the science, technology, and medicine disciplines. From the BioMed Central homepage, click the search icon in the top right corner to open the search box
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism.
Watch the videos below to familiarize yourself with how to navigate searching in some of these databases.
The following video introduces how to search the UpToDate database and use some of its features.
The following video gives great insight into how most databases operate. It also shows you how to conduct an effective and efficient search specifically in PubMed.
The following video demonstrates how to search the I-Portal database.
The following video introduces how to use basic search techniques and advanced features in EBSCOhost.
The techniques used in EBSCOhost can also be applied to ScienceDirect.
