An annotated bibliography can be created manually or by using tools called citation managers (e.g. NoodleTools).
What is a Citation Manager (e.g. NoodleTools)?
Citation managers are tools that help you create collections of citation information and research notes. The Assiniboine Library subscribes to the citation manager called NoodleTools, a tool that allows you to quickly generate, edit, and publish an APA Reference list or annotated bibliography. It will take care of:
- punctuation
- alphabetization
- and formatting
This saves you time to do other work!
Although a citation manager isn't required to create an annotated bibliography, it takes care of the citing busy-work so you can focus on writing your annotations.
Some instructors prefer you use other methods for creating an annotated bibliography. We strongly recommend you talk to your instructor about the use of NoodleTools for your assignment.
How do I create an annotated bibliography in NoodleTools?
Step One
The first step in creating an annotated bibliography in NoodleTools is to create a reference for your source (e.g. article, website, book, etc.). To do this:
- Login to NoodleTools with your college username and password
- Start a new project or open an existing one.
- Add a source.
- Choose the option that best describes how you accessed the source [e.g. website, database, print (e.g. book), etc.].
- Fill out the form with as much information as your source provides.
Once you've filled out the form, keep it open and move onto the next step below.
Not familiar with using NoodleTools to create reference lists? View our video walkthroughs to guide you through the process.
Step Two
The second step is to add the annotation to your reference. To do this:
- Write your annotation in the Annotation box.
- Save your annotated reference.
Repeat all steps above for each of your sources.
Video Walkthrough
Your instructor may request that your annotations include information different than what's outlined in the video below. They may also request that your annotation be a different length than what's suggested in the video. Consult your instructor and your assignment rubric for the requirements.
