Databases are useful when looking for in-depth information on a narrow topic. This is especially true of journal articles. A number of specific databases will be helpful in finding information for this assignment.
For this assignment, the Library recommends using (click the linked text to access):
Users must register upon first use. Delivers evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights
PubMed provides free access to articles and abstracts on health, medicine, and life sciences from sources like MEDLINE. Note: Reliability in PubMed search results may be affected by changes in administration and policies related to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Consult our Nursing & Allied Health A-Z list of databases for a selection of additional database options.
Search for articles and other resources related to your area of study in a variety of databases through EBSCOhost.
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism.
"Contains full-text electronic resources with a primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world." - Indigenous Studies Portal, University of Saskatchewan
Search free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Search the collection of the Government of Canada's publications including reports, statistics, and other documents.
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism.
Offers a range of health-related resources focused on First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. “Using a holistic, co-ordinated and strengths-based approach to health, The National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH) fosters links between evidence, knowledge, practice and policy while advancing self-determination and Indigenous knowledge in support of optimal health and well-being.” - NCCIH
This database provides access to documents, such as intervenor project submissions, publications, research reports and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
Watch the videos below to familiarize yourself with how to navigate searching in some of these databases.
The following video introduces how to search the UpToDate database and use some of its features.
The following video gives great insight into how most databases operate. It also shows you how to conduct an effective and efficient search specifically in PubMed.
The following video introduces how to use basic search techniques and advanced features in EBSCOhost.
The techniques used in EBSCOhost can also be applied to ScienceDirect.
The following video demonstrates how to search the I-Portal database.
If you come across an article that you don’t have full access to, you can request it through the Library! Simply fill out our Library Materials Request form with as many details about the article as possible and we’ll work to bring it in for you.
Details that will help us find the article are:
