Databases are useful when looking for in-depth information on a narrow topic. This is especially true of journal articles. A number of specific databases will be helpful in finding information for this assignment.
For this assignment, the Library recommends using (click the linked text to access):
Users must register upon first use. Delivers evidence-based clinical decision support that is clear, actionable, and rich with real-world insights
PubMed provides free access to articles and abstracts on health, medicine, and life sciences from sources like MEDLINE. Note: Reliability in PubMed search results may be affected by changes in administration and policies related to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Consult our Nursing & Allied Health A-Z list of databases for a selection of additional database options.
Provides medical information and discussions of medical diagnosis and therapy. Includes browsable sections on medical topics, audiovisual informational resources, symptoms overviews, clinical calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, normal laboratory values, abbreviations, selected links to useful websites, and more.
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Also browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
A peer-reviewed journal collection offers the leading literature in physical sciences, including Earth & Planetary Sciences, Energy, Chemistry, Computer Science, and others.
Search for articles and other resources related to your area of study in a variety of databases through EBSCOhost.
Watch the videos below to familiarize yourself with how to navigate searching in some of these databases.
The following video introduces how to search the UpToDate database and use some of its features.
The following video gives great insight into how most databases operate. It also shows you how to conduct an effective and efficient search specifically in PubMed.
The following video introduces how to use basic search techniques and advanced features in EBSCOhost.
The techniques used in EBSCOhost can also be applied to ScienceDirect.
If you come across an article that you don’t have full access to, you can request it through the Library! Simply fill out our Library Materials Request form with as many details about the article as possible and we’ll work to bring it in for you.
Details that will help us find the article are:
Government and association websites like those linked below are useful when looking for statistics (i.e. incidence and prevalence). They can also be sources of good quality information on a variety of topics. Click the linked, underlined text below to access the websites listed where you'll likely find information relevant to this assignment.
