The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Provides access to archived Indigenous news publications including Wind Speaker, Alberta Sweetgrass, Raven's Eye, Ontario Birchbark, Saskatchewan Sage, Buffalo Spirit, and CFWE-FM.
Information on weather and climate relevant to the agricultural sector, drought, interactive maps, geospatial data, soil and land resource information, crop protection, water quality and supply related to farming, Drought Watch.
“AgriMaps is a Government of Manitoba interactive online map viewer that includes information on Manitoba’s soils and its potential uses.” - Government of Manitoba
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete.
“Featuring Native American art and culture, this award-winning quarterly magazine engages its readers with diverse articles about the fascinating and often overlooked histories of American Indian nations and the contemporary challenges facing Native peoples across the Western Hemisphere.” - Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
"Leading Manitoban bird experts describe the distribution, abundance, habitat and conservation of 312 species of birds that bred or potentially bred in the province between 2010 and 2014… Detailed maps show where each species occurs and how common it is. Graphs help show what is behind the patterns of distribution and abundance, and a series of tools allows you to explore and download the information." - Manitoba Breeding Birds Atlas
The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. The collection includes courses and textbooks.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.
Provides a forum for scholarship in agricultural, resource, and environmental economics including topics concerning: agri-food, agri-business, policy, resource utilization and environmental impacts. The CJAE publishes a range of theoretical, applied and policy-related articles.
The Cultural Safety Collection is a selective repository of resources related to addressing barriers in accessing health and social services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples due to their experiences with racism, discrimination and marginalization. It includes resources focused on creating a culturally competent workforce, promoting cultural safety in service settings, practicing cultural humility, responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action, implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and addressing anti-Indigenous racism.
The Early Child Development Collection is a selective repository of resources pertaining to the health and well-being of First Nations, Inuit, and Mé
Data and statistics on Manitoba agriculture and food production, environment, and trade.
Provides general economic and demographic data for the province of Manitoba.
Provides clear, easy to understand information on thousands of medical topics. It also contains photos and illustrations, animations, videos, and medical self-assessments.
Provides medical information and discussions of medical diagnosis and therapy. Includes browsable sections on medical topics, audiovisual informational resources, symptoms overviews, clinical calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, normal laboratory values, abbreviations, selected links to useful websites, and more.
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.” - MERLOT
“The NCTR Archives and Collections is the foundation for ongoing learning and research. Here, Survivors, their families, educators, researchers, and the public can examine the residential school system more deeply with the goal of fostering reconciliation and healing.” - NCTR Archives
Offers a range of health-related resources focused on First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. “Using a holistic, co-ordinated and strengths-based approach to health, The National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH) fosters links between evidence, knowledge, practice and policy while advancing self-determination and Indigenous knowledge in support of optimal health and well-being.” - NCCIH
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
"OASIS is an OER search engine available from SUNY that indexes 97 different sources for OERs. In addition to textbooks, OASIS can be searched for videos, primary sources, lessons, and other course materials." - University of Manitoba
OER Commons is a freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources and other freely available instructional materials.
A selection of open education resources recommended by the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing.
The Ovid database is a comprehensive resource that provides access to a wide range of scientific, technical, and medical information. Access a number of the sources for free through Assiniboine Library's Open Access account! Contact Library Staff for login credentials.
Note: Some articles may not be available in full-text. To request full access, complete our Library Materials Request form.
A collection of open access articles in a range of subject areas including medicine and health, environmental science, computing and computer science, sociology, economics, business and management, social work, and education.
Peel's Prairie Provinces is a collection of digitized materials related to the history and culture of Western Canada.
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
This database provides access to documents, such as intervenor project submissions, publications, research reports and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.
Provides free access to working papers, preprints, and published papers in social sciences.
Free access to full-text articles and documents in the social sciences.
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
A collection of open access journals in a wide range of subject areas including business and management, computer science, economics, education, engineering, environment, medicine & public health, social sciences, and more.
“The Statistics Canada website is a key source for Canadian data. Data from the census and from Statistics Canada's many surveys and statistical programs are available from their website.” - University of Toronto Libraries
A collection of open access eBooks in a range of subject areas including social sciences, economics, finance, business, and industry, environment and sustainability, education, engineering and technology, and more.
A collection of open access journals in a range of subject areas including nursing & allied health, engineering & technology, environment & agriculture, environment & sustainability, GIS, remote sensing & cartography, and more.
A comprehensive and accurate source of information on Canadian topics and includes contributions from over 5000 scholars and specialists. Text is in both English and French.
The United Nations Library is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Explore documents, votes, speeches, public domain publications, and more!
Provides a list of open access journals in a range of subject areas including nursing, education, construction, social sciences, and more. Click the listed journal titles to access articles in each publication.
"This free site features public lectures, teaching material, interviews with leading academics, information about applying to the University, and much more. All the material is arranged within a series of related talks or lectures and may be in audio, video or document format." - University of Oxford
A free introduction to human body systems using 3D interactive models.
A free introduction to biology using 3D interactive models.
Each year, Windspeaker.com publishes hundreds of news articles focused on Indigenous peoples, their issues and concerns, and the work they are undertaking to build a better future for themselves, their children and the children as yet unborn.
"Using a population health approach, [Community Health Assessments, CHAs) provide baseline information about the health status, determinants of health, and health system utilization of community residents. The CHA also tracks health outcomes over time, identifies opportunities for health promotion and disease prevention and describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities." - Southern Health-Santé
Provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data and statistics about development in countries around the globe. Topic categories include Agriculture & Rural Development, Economic Policy & External Debt, Education, Environment, Financial Sector, Health, Infrastructure, Labour & Social Protection, Poverty, Private Sector, Science & Technology, Social Development, and Urban Development.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products across a wide range of topics and from all regions of the world. It provides access to a variety of resources including reports, books, journal articles, policy research, and more.
A tool that simplifies the process of creating and editing citations. Create entire reference lists and generate in-text citations. Download the Zotero plug-in for MS word to insert references and in-text citations directly into your assignments. Note: APA is the citation style used at Assiniboine Community College.
